Press Kit

Mission Statement

Southern Magic promotes excellence in romantic fiction, helps writers become published and establish careers in their writing field, and provides continuing support for writers within the romance publishing industry.


Southern Magic is the central Alabama chapter of the Romance Writers of America. We took the name Souhern Magic from the city where we hold our meetings. Between 1881 and 1920, Birmingham, Alabama, grew at such an astounding rate that it earned the nickname "The Magic City." Past Presidents of the Chapter are: Naima Simone (2014), Meda White (2015-6), Eliza Hunter(2017).


Southern Magic members are from all stages of publishing. There are unpublished members, multi-published members, booksellers, librarians, and from all walks of life. Members must be 18 or older in accordance with Romance Writers of America® (RWA) rules. You must be a member of RWA to join Southern Magic.

Monthly Programs

Southern Magic holds monthly programs where attendees can larn more about the craft of writing, ask questions of experts, or explore new technology. These programs are open to the public and visitors are welcome. Visitors may attend two meetings within a 12-month period without joining. Visitors who wish to attend more must join the Romance Writers of American and the Southern Magic chapter.

Annual Readers Luncheon

Southern Magic also sponsors an annual readers luncheon in November where readers can meet their favorite author! Join local authors for lunch, followed by a special welcome speaker and special keynote speaker. Attendees receive goodie bags with books and are eligible for door prize baskets. Enjoy a day with people who share your love of reading!


Southern Magic holds two annual contests, the Linda Howard Award of Excellence and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence.

  • The Linda Howard Award of Excellence contest was conceived in honor of best-selling author Linda Howard to award excellence in unpublished romance fiction and their authors. The contest is judged by trained, PRO and published authors. The winners of each category are awarded a specially designed pin. Winners will also be included in the RWR announcements.
  • The Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence contest was conceived in honor of multi-RITA Winner Gayle Wilson to award excellence in published romance fiction. The contest is judged by avid readers of romance, booksellers, and/or librarians. The winners of each category are awarded a bookmark engraved with the author's name and the book's title. Winners will also be included in a full-page RWR advertisement.